The History Center publishes The Pine Bough, a popular annual East Texas history magazine featuring our growing archival collections.
The Pine Bough - Vol 19, December 2014
This 45-page issue has 3 feature articles, including an article about former Diboll Schools Superintendent Wilbur F. Pate and his view of Diboll in 1941, with photographs of the town and descriptions of life before World War II. It also includes an article about the former Temple Industries subsidiary TexLam, a company that produced laminated wood beams and arches, some of which are still supporting and beautifying houses of worship and public buildings around East Texas. There is also a report on the Lufkin Industries collection, updating the processing progress and showcasing more photographs from the vast photo archive included in the collection. Downtown Lufkin's First Street in 1934 is a featured image from the collection.
The year's scrapbook pages include a tribute to Charlie Havard, a retrospective look at Diboll signs and billboards, and the Angelina College Lady Roadrunners, among others.
TABLE OF CONTENTS: December 2014
Wilbur F. Pate's Diboll: A Photographic Tour in Late 1941
TexLam: Temple Industries' Venture Into Laminated Wood Beams and Arches
by Emily E. Hyatt
Lufkin Industries Collection Report
Angelina College Lady Runners
Pineland Theater and Locomotives
36 and 37
Diboll Signs and Billboards
38 and 39
Angelina Hardwood Company
Southern Pine Lumber Company Retail Yard, Diboll
News and Notices