December 2014 Pine Bough Magazine Now Online
The December 2014 issue of the Pine Bough Magazine is now online. Copies were sent to subscribers on January 5, and now the pdf version is available for download at this link: http://www.thehistorycenteronline.com/pine-bough/the-pine-bough-volume-19-december-2014
This 45-page issue has 3 feature articles, including an article about former Diboll Schools Superintendent Wilbur F. Pate and his view of Diboll in 1941, with photographs of the town and descriptions of life before World War II. It also includes an article about the former Temple Industries subsidiary TexLam, a company that produced laminated wood beams and arches, some of which are still supporting and beautifying houses of worship and public buildings around East Texas. There is also a report on the Lufkin Industries collection, updating the processing progress and showcasing more photographs from the vast photo archive included in the collection. Downtown Lufkin's First Street in 1934 is a featured image from the collection.
The year's scrapbook pages include a tribute to Charlie Havard, a retrospective look at Diboll signs and billboards, and the Angelina College Lady Roadrunners, among others.
The Pine Bough magazine is a benefit of membership at The History Center. To become a member, please send a check and the membership form (available at this link: http://www.thehistorycenteronline.com/about/join) to The History Center 102 N. Temple Diboll, TX 75941.
Back issues are available for $5.00 plus shipping. Please call 936-829-3543 for details.