United States Department of Agriculture - National Forests and Grasslands in Texas Collection

43 cubic feet

The National Forests and Grasslands of Texas is a division of the United States Department of Agriculture. The four National Forests in Texas were created in 1933 and 1934 during the Great Depression, with purchased from local land owners and timber companies and authorized by the State of Texas. The Angelina National Forest, the Davy Crockett National Forest, the Sabine National Forest and the Sam Houston National Forest covered cutover timberlands that were gradually replanted and developed into a perpetual timber resource and recreation centers. The U. S. Forest Service – National Forests and Grasslands of Texas Collection consists of many thousands of photographic prints, negatives, and slides pertaining to the National Forests and Grasslands managed in the State of Texas. These photographs and slides show locations within Texas national forests and grasslands, events hosted by the U. S. Forest Service, natural disasters in Texas forests and grasslands, and the flora and fauna found in each national forest and grassland in Texas.

Download Finding Guide

Search across all content on our site including Oral History, Exhibits, Finding Guides, Online Collections and news. Search looks inside PDF documents linked in our archives.