The History Center uses exhibits, both on-site and on-line, to showcase some of our vast collections of documents and photographs.
East Texas Railroad Photograph Selections
Angelina County Lumber Company Engine 110
Engineer William J. Morrison, fireman Willard Cherry, and conductor June Terry pose for Shreveport, Louisiana photographer A. E. Brown (1914-1981) at New Camp, Nacogdoches County, Texas in about 1959. Engine 110, a 77-ton Baldwin 2-8-2, was built in 1924 for Angelina County Lumber Company and was donated in 1970 to the City of Lufkin by Owens-Illinois, Inc. Forest Products Division, in cooperation with Lufkin Industries, Inc., Angelina & Neches River Railroad, and the Lufkin Junior Chamber of Commerce. It has been on static display at Lufkin's Ellen Trout Zoo since July 1970. Photo from our William J. Morrison Collection.
Steam Whistle, fast running: Click the link below to hear Engine 110, with W.J. Morrison at the throttle, pull a heavy log train nearing Keltys in about 1959. (From A Symphony in Steam, by L.J. Carlson and H.K. Vollrath, 1959).